Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2008 Honda Civic Problems and Repairs

Comments

• glogoglogo Member Posts: 1
    I've been driving MT cars for 20 years and was just told that I burned out my clutch on my 9 month old Civic. With the exception of my first used MT car, I have not burned out a clutch with my other 2 cars and each had over 125K miles before I traded them in.

I bought the car and live in San Francisco and the hills can be brutal. This issue started on one of the steepest hills in the city on Sunday. I had to stop at a stop sign. When I tried to re-engage the clutch, I put my foot on the gas - nothing. I floored the gas - nothing. After a total of a second or two, I started to roll backwards and stalled. This happend twice. Traffic building up behing me, I pulled the emergency brake, revved the engine and engaged the clutch before I disengaged the brake. I made it through the intersection but seem to have done some damage - the engagement point on the clutch has definitely moved.

My first thought was that gas wasn't getting to the right place to get me through the intersection. I took it to the dealership and they say it is all the clutch.

I am very frustrated that I am already faced with replacing a clutch at 9 months. I am having a hard time accepting that it is possible to burn out a clutch on a single hill (which is what the dealership is telling me) and I know that I am not a bad driver. If I were a bad driver, two of my other three other cars would not have lasted 7-9 years with over 125K without issue. My first car was bought with 60K and I had to replace the clutch after 75K - I wasn't the first person to learn on it.

Has anyone else had an issue like this? Is it really possible to burn out a clutch on a hill?
  • brzuchalskibrzuchalski Member Posts: 2