Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Can't decide on the best course of action for my situation

big_blue360big_blue360 Member Posts: 3
edited April 2017 in Toyota
Hello All,

I find myself in a bit of an interesting situation and was looking for some advice. Recently, I financed a car I had been leasing for the last 3 years, a 2014 Toyota Corolla. Since I was doing a lease to own transaction I thought the deal would be fairly straightforward, but looking back on it i'm sure I made a hasty decision and screwed myself over.

First off, they charged me about 14,000 for the car which, thanks to Kelly Bluebook, I now know is only worth 11,000 at most. Then they stuck me with all kinds of extended warrants and extra charges so, at the end of the day, everything came out to about 20,000!!!. I'm now essentially paying double of the cars worth now. Admittedly, I understand it's my fault for not doing more research but I just didnt expect to get taken for such a ride especially when I was already leasing the car.

My question is.. what should i do now? Keep the car and pay more than 10k total over what its actually work or take the negative Auto equity hit and trade it in. Essentially, have the 4k rollover to whatever I decide to get next.

Best Answer

Answers

• kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 236,527
    Those are sunk costs. The car is the car. If you like it, keep driving it. The negative equity situation will eventually take care of itself.

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator

• PF_FlyerPF_Flyer Member Posts: 9,372