Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Rebates, Incentives, APRs - Questions & Comments

Comments

• paul138paul138 Member Posts: 31
    Car Man,

so when you say "resonable" you mean I could probabaly do a little better?
    Becuase I HATE leaving $$ on the table
    I have not given them a counter offer yet.
    And do dealers really deal a little more at the end of the month?
    becuase we plan to buy next week on the 29th or 30th.
    thanks
    Paul
  • darius2kdarius2k Member Posts: 5
    I'm rather new at this and have a few questions:

1. I notice that the 'true market value' price on Edmunds for a Kia I'm interested in is $16,046, and that they have a cash back rebate for $1,750. Should I expect to be able to get the car at (or near) this price AND get the $1,750 rebate as well? Or will the dealer insist on adding $1,750 to whatever price we negotiate on in order to 'balance out' the rebate?

2. Because of where i work, I have access to discounts with certain manufacturers, such as Ford (x-plan), Nissan, Mazda (s-plan), etc. The discount is usually a certain percentage above invoice price. Question is - if I use those discounts, should I expect to have access to whatever rebates the manufacturer is offering? For example, Ford is currently offering $2,500 cash back for the Focus. If I could use my employee discount plus get the $2,500 rebate, that would be pretty sweet:)
  • qbrozenqbrozen Member Posts: 32,936
    1. usually edmunds takes this into account on TMV, but you will see it as a separate line item on the breakdown on the MSRP/INVOICE/TMV final calculation screen.

2. Yes, employee or supplier pricing is BEFORE rebates. And, yes, you still qualify for them, so you take the employee/supplier price and subtract rebates.