Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

A Mechanic's Life - Tales From Under the Hood

Comments

• Options
    jp10558jp10558 Member Posts: 3
    I think I understand the issue a bit as I work in IT. Before this thread, I always thought that mechanics could always go off and start a shop and make all the hourly rate, but never realized how expensive the tools etc were that a mechanic needed, at least on an ongoing basis needing new ones.

I had figured once you had wrenches for instance, they would be potentially good forever, but now I see that isn't true.

I expect once you get past the tools, the problems are similar - many tasks don't necessarily need a lot of skill, but the ones that do - and they always eventually come up for everyone - would require a lot of expertise to pull them off correctly. And that assumes that it's actually possible for a given piece of hardware or car. And people balk at paying what that sort of skill and experience costs.

In IT it's a bit worse if you want to be a retail sort of establishment as most anyone can buy a replacement computer for what a few hours of repair time costs, but even for cars, it doesn't take many hours at $105 an hour (going rate where I live) to start getting where people ask if it is cost effective - as that's aside from parts. Of course, cars are multi thousand dollar beasts, but I see many posts on car forums asking if the $5000 quote for a repair on an old car is worth it, so it's driving mechanics as well.

And mechanics have the same problem - how does a non mechanic find a good one, and there can't be many left at the sub $20 an hour rate - and it's not even that much by how the "flat rate" seems to work as described here.