Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

BMW 3-Series Run Flat Tires

Comments

• Options
    nkeennkeen Member Posts: 313
    I've been saying for a couple of years now that "RFT tuned suspension be damned, unsprung weight is still unsprung weight. Reduce it and the performance, ride and handling of the car will improve, all else being equal of course."

I'd be interested in what the weight difference is. I've read that it is significant with the Michelin runflats used on the Honda minivans but wonder if it is as significant on the Bridgestone and Conti designs that went the stiffer sidewall route. It did seem that my 16" winter LM-22 T/R combos were heavier than the summer RE050A 17" OEM combos, but, then, I didn't weigh either.

We just returned from 2 weeks in Quimper, Brittany where I was driving a rented Renault Scenic MPV. The ride/handling setup of French cars is very impressive, handling D roads with wavy loose-chippings-on-tar surfaces and pronounced and variable camber (very similar to British B roads) in a responsive manner. I continue to be impressed with turbo-diesel power -- bags of low end torque, which I think European drivers understand to be important for making good, effortless time over long distances with a manual trans. I'd be interested to see how the E90 series would handle these roads, whether the wavy surface would bounce the car around -- saw a lot, primarily 320Ds with the same wheels as base US cars but with 16" summer tires, all with aluminum or metal-look trim. I also wonder whether the sport suspension on the US market car is more similar the SE sport or M-sport setup, but my guess is that it is probably engineered specifically for North America.