Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Fuel and Oil Additives

Comments

• shiposhipo Member Posts: 9,148
    I've opened up way too many engines that used STP and Pennsylvania Grade Crude (i.e. Quaker State, Pennzoil, and Wolf's Head), and each and every time I did, that "patented" smell would nearly make me puke. The flip side is opening up an engine run on something like Valvoline or Havoline (for the conventionals) or pretty much any synthetic, and you usually find a nice clean engine and just that good old fashioned grease smell. :)

Just before I stopped wrenching for a living, one guy brought me an engine that had been abused with STP and Quaker State and I asked him to take it to someone else.

Best regards,
    Shipo
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    When I was working on cars at a friend's shop, I also refused to deal with an engine that was doped with STP. I told them to have it all dunked chemically before I touched it...or I told them I'd just open the engine and shake all the parts into the trash can and start from scratch.
  • isellhondasisellhondas Member Posts: 20,342
    Valvoline used to yield the same results as the Penn brands.

Havoline was the best! You take apart a 100,000 miles engine and with a shop rag, wipe out the oil pan!

STP was the WORST stuff yet there was a time it was quite popular.
    Interesting, back in the 1970s when I was wrenching I never once saw a sludged Valvoline motor (errr, at least one that had oil that had been changed at reasonable intervals). I agree though, back then the Havoline was the best of the mineral oils. :)

Best regards,
    Shipo
  • bassprobasspro Member Posts: 34