Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

VW Jetta TDI

Comments

• Options
    gagricegagrice Member Posts: 31,450
    Is there way to circulate heat to the DSG with your engine heater?
  • Options
    bpeeblesbpeebles Member Posts: 4,085
    I have no specific knowledge about the DSG... but all automatic xmissions that I am aware of have their hydrolic fluid heat-exchanged with the engine antifreeze.

In laymans terms this means, the transmisstion temparture is SHARED with the engine. In this way, any heat generated in the xmission is disapated out thru the radiator.

(Some xmissions have their own seperate cooling system....)

With this said, I would expect that using a plug-in engine-heater would also tend to warm the xmission once the engine is started and the fluid starts to flow.
  • Options
    m6userm6user Member Posts: 3,181
    Well, EXCUSE me if I asked a question not directly related. Cosmo, I wasn't inferring that you provided bad info I just noticed the difference and was wondering about it. Have a good one.
  • Options
    shriftyshrifty Member Posts: 255
    To explain the miles, I have been taking regular trips to NYC almost weekly, drove up to Saskatchewan for vacation, and many business trips for work. Oddly enough, tomorrow will be 2 weeks that my car has NOT been running, which is the longest the car sat in one place since being built. So much for the 3 year warranty! That has expired about 2 months ago. It would be nice to see an option for a 2 year unlimited mileage warranty.

Typically I put on between 30-35K miles a year, and I've had the car a bit over a year now. I spoke with the dealer about the 40K service, they said the DSG fluid alone was roughly $350! I think the total would run in the 700 range... :mad:
  • Options