Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Pontiac Grand Am Security Passlock Problems

Comments

• mkirby5mkirby5 Member Posts: 2
    Thanks for that reminder......we did just put a new battery in last month so hopefully we won't have any worries for at least a few weeks :)
  • vyrvyr Member Posts: 2
    I'm sorry that I don't check this forum more often since my passlock problem is over and I no longer own a Grand Am.

Did your passlock bypass work Banjo?
  • wheelman5wheelman5 Member Posts: 1
    burdawg is absolutely correct. I am a auto tech and I am familiar with the passlock problem, and SO IS GM!!!. There is a technical service bulletin on the issue, but no recall which makes me furious as the owner of a 02 grand am. The problem is not the keyless entry, it is the hall effect switch in the key cylinder. This problem is inherent, but can be made worse by by having too many keys on your key chain. The weight puts stress on the assembly. Re setting the system only buys you time until the hall effect switch fails completely.
  • burdawgburdawg Member Posts: 1,524
    I've heard of a few cases where a similiar problem was caused by corrosion/moisture in the PCM (or BCM, don't remember which one) connector, but haven't experienced it myself. Usually though I believe it also caused other problems at the same time, like dash warning lights coming on randomly, or other systems working intermittently.
  • oneman4u2coneman4u2c Member Posts: 4
    i have a 96 grand am won start i replaced the switch the reset the theft light and it is solid but no fire no fuel just turns over any help would greatly be appreciated
  • tripower1tripower1 Member Posts: 25