Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Check Engine light

Comments

• bblahabblaha Member Posts: 329
    What does this mean?

"hard start in morning, engine temp running high and going through some coolant, little chugs and other quirks"

I'm not a mechanic either, but I can understand how the engine can perform badly if the computer isn't accurately receiving some of the inputs it needs (O2 and coolant temperatures) to control the combustion process (fuel flow rate etc.). Since you've replaced the 2 "bad" sensors, and the error codes are still popping up, it makes sense that the ECM is itself bad. But does your above statement imply you are losing coolant?
  • cbreseecbresee Member Posts: 2
    Yes, I have been losing some coolant, but see no visible external leaks and the engine oil looks fine. I haven't been losing an incredible amount of coolant, but it does seem more than on would normally expect and, of course, I'm more aware of even the small things now that there are things wrong.

Appreciate your response. The tend to confirm some of what I am thinking as well, but just not too confident of my own opinion in this area. Thanks for taking the time to help a guy out!
  • butch11butch11 Member Posts: 153
    Pull your spark plugs and check for discoloration. Also with the engine cold, remove the radiator cap (assuming you have one) with the coolant full to the neck of the cap, start the engine and see if the coolant is "jumping" around.

If you do not see a coolant leak, I would be very concerned about where it is going.

Let us know what you find.
  • jevin111jevin111 Member Posts: 4