Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Quest/Mercury Villager problems

Comments

• stigmatastigmata Member Posts: 10
    I have a '95 villager and the transmission will not shift unless I am close to 6000 rpm's or if I lift on the accelerator. I also Have no speedometer until the old girl warms up. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
  • dhoffdhoff Member Posts: 282
    I'm no expert but... could be your VSS (vehicle speed sensor). I think that would explain both symptoms.

Dave
  • kgdtechkgdtech Member Posts: 3
    Resistor Location?
  • stigmatastigmata Member Posts: 10
    Its under the passengers side just to the left of the blower motor.. 2 bolts and it comes out.
  • sitanositano Member Posts: 5
    When I was replacing the rear brake light bulb I noticed that the tail light assembly was full of water!!! OK, I live in Seattle but this seemed out of ordinary. Anyone have a clue?? Where is it coming from?? How to stop it?? Or do I just drill a little drain hole to let the water out.... :confuse:
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Tail light lens gasket probably...this is the seal that goes around the entire tail light assembly...sometimes they are replaceable, sometimes not. One trick is to remove the entire light body and reseal it using black LATEX caulking compound....LATEX...easy clean up.
  • steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    My left front brake is making a racket and eyeballing it with the tire off; well, it's hard to see, but I guess I'm due for new pads. I barely have 28,000 miles on these. Maybe it's just dust. :shades:

I think I put Raybestos pads on last times with new rotors. Maybe I'll go back to OEM or whatever is over the counter at NAPA and see if the existing rotors will work without chattering on me.

Did you swap out your last set of pads you got from Tire Rack Dave?