Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Real-World Trade-In Values

Comments

• Options
    fezofezo Member Posts: 10,384
    I do realize that I am an amateur in the midst of professionals.... Going to more cars than drivers was a big step for me. Hadn't done that since I was single and had an old 56 Buick Special as a toy. I'm sure I'm heading for the world of "oh, what's one more?".... Actually the answer to that is insuring the bugger. NJM doesn't seem to buy the concept that I can only drive one at a time.

Yeah, on that Pilot I have a hard time seeing how you can make changing vehicles worth your money. I'm not thrilled with the Ody on gas but there's little sense in doing anything about that.
    2015 Mazda 6 Grand Touring, 2014 Mazda 3 Sport Hatchback, 1999 Mazda Miata 2004 Toyota Camry LE, 1999.
  • Options
    woodywwwoodyww Member Posts: 1,806
    A few times here over the years people have posted about wanting to trade a Honda--cars with superb reliability & resale value--for a Hyundai, which have resale values that are probably the worst since Yugos. :confuse:

The Pilot sounds like a nice one, worth keeping unless you put on a huge amount of miles. But if you trade it, I'd urge you to do so on other than a Hyundai--a better mileage Honda, Toyota, or Subie (get a Japanese car, not Korean)......
  • Options
    lemmerlemmer Member Posts: 2,689
    You are kind of in a bad place either way. You don't want a big SUV because gas prices are high. Depreciation is high on big SUVs because gas prices are high. The reason you want to sell it is the reason nobody else wants it all that much.