Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Audi A6

Comments

• timcartimcar Posts: 363
    Yes, Mark, opinions only. I'm the last thing from an oil expert. I prefer Mobil 1 only because I've been using it for about 25 years, have had no engine problems with any car in which I've ever used it, and am hence entirely satisfied. My nature is to use anything with which I've been pleased until I no longer am. More knowledgeable people than I have recommended Red Line oil. I've no reason to doubt them, but I've not investigated it.
  • I have had a xenon headlight problem that may be of interest:

After going through our usual commercial car wash, a few days ago, my wife noticed a considerable amount of water on the inner lens of the right side headlight (2002 A6). The dealer looked at it and determined that the upper seal had broken, and ordered a replacement. I found it slightly humorous that they needed to take a photograph, for Audi, in order to justify obtaining a replacement. Evidently, the cost is considerable. The service manager stressed that there should be no condensation on the inner lens, much less the larger collection of water we had.

I resolved one other xenon issue: I inquired, while at the dealership, if the xenon's had a more abrupt cut off, on the driver's side, than the stock units. The answer was "yes". If you are not familiar with the term "cut off", it refers to an intentional design feature wherein the low beams do not rise above a predetermined level beyond a set distance. This prevents blinding of oncoming drivers.

The xenons, as most are probably aware, have a self leveling feature. However, there are manual adjustments possible. I will have the A6's left headlight set a bit higher, hopefully not high enough to annoy oncoming drivers. If improperly adjusted, I am sure we will get "flashed."