Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Internet vs. Traditional Car Buying

philip17philip17 Member Posts: 25
Hello:

I'm an editor at Edmunds.com and I've written many of the advice pieces. Now I need your help.

I'm doing research for a story that tests the way cars are priced. Specifically: if you walk on the lot and ask for a price on a car they will probably quote you sticker price and try to stick to that. But if you go through the Internet department, the same car will immediately be discounted.

Has anyone had this experience? Can any of you post your stories and the prices of the cars involved. I need this information for my article.

Thanks for your help.

Philip Reed
Consumer Advice Editor
Edmunds.com

Philip Reed, Edmunds.com Senior Consumer Advice Editor

Comments

• raybearraybear Member Posts: 1,795
    How many stories do you need?

Truthfully, I've seen it go both ways. Somtimes the customer gets the right salesman and sometimes they get the wrong internet guy. Usually the internet or fleet managers come in low right away; where the salesman's job is to protect the dealer's profit margin the internet manager's is to move product.
  • abtsellerabtseller Member Posts: 291
    one shot at the internet customer, so we cut to the chase immediately. The lot guys try to start out higher, but will eventually get into our range.

How many stories do you want? We could write a book.

Ed
  • im_brentwoodim_brentwood Member Posts: 4,883
    Gimme a call if ya want...

I'm moving a ton of used cars on eBay and autotrader.com and I do put my "bottom-line" pricing there as a rule..

Bill

PA.. ya missed the fun this week!
  • eimeriaeimeria Member Posts: 12