Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Buick Regal

Comments

• tsu670tsu670 Member Posts: 293
    Another thought is possibly ball joints. Best to replace them both at the same time even if only one has gone south.
  • mrravenmrraven Member Posts: 1
    My son's wife managed to slide their 2000 GS supercharged 3.8 off a driveway and over boulder, resulting in a bent bracket below the radiator and a ruined leaky radiator. I've eyeballed the bracket and can straighten that out with no problem once the radiator is out.

They are barely making ends meet so I'm thinking of trying to help him replace the radiator. I'm a poor mechanic at best and would appreciate any and all help so we can figure how to remove the radiator correctly.
  • spanglerspangler Member Posts: 2
    When I accelerate from a stop, there is a dramatic loss of power (major hesitation for about (2- 4 seconds), then it takes off. This happens only when the engine is cold, then after a few minutes of operation the problem goes away.
  • shortyscrf450shortyscrf450 Member Posts: 1
    Is it possible to supercharg or put a supercharged crate motor in an LS?
  • BushwackBushwack Member Posts: 258
    It may be possible but not practical. I don't think the LS' transmission can take the torque the supercharger would add (the tranny is different then the tranny of a GS).
  • yurakmyurakm Member Posts: 1,345
    In addition to heavy duty transmission, GS have different fuel pump, and other parts - do not remember exactly, but something with front axes / joints / balls. Even the battery is different.

Probably a used GS would cost less than the conversion.

By the way, did you consider to put the 5.3l V-8 from 2006 Impala in your LS? Looks not much different.
  • lokiizgodlokiizgod Member Posts: 1