Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Impreza WRX

Comments

• buddhajonesmdbuddhajonesmd Member Posts: 1
    I've just recently got turned onto the Impreza's, especially the WRX's so I'm a bit new at all this. I'm going to be graduating from college and getting a job in mid March which happens to be the time when they are supposed to start showing up. I would just love to get one as my first car but obviously price is going to be a factor. I live in the Bay Area and would like to know if anyone out there knows of any dealers in this are that are willing to sell for under MSRP? Any information would be extremely helpful. THanks
  • ottosottos Member Posts: 80
    Well, I think that cranking the engine is the same as letting it start. If the oil pump is connected to the crankshaft, which is standard, the oil pump only works when the crank is turning anyway, so it doesn't matter if you're cranking it or the engine is turning itself. Neither way makes a big difference over the other, that is for sure. The only way to help your engine in a big way during startup is to have the oil pump run first, before the engine is turned. Like an external auxiliary pump would be a good idea.

As for breaking engines in. We here at Ford's dynamometer lab still break-in engines, so our modern engines still require it. But each engine might require a different amount of time. So just read your owner's manual, because the company that wrote the manual knows the most about the engine. Reading the manual is a very good idea, and the repair manual straight from the mfg'er is better.